1993 ‘H M The Queen’ for the Adjutant Generals Corps by John Edwards

1993 'H M The Queen' for the Adjutant Generals Corps by John Edwards RP

Having seen portraits by Thomas Lawrence, I wanted to paint the Queen in red velvet but sadly she did not have a velvet dress so I compromised and chose a red dress which was not velvet.  The shawl was my shawl, which I brought to break up the red.

On one occasion I dropped my palette. It always lands  ‘butter side down’ said the Queen. Fortunately they had taupaline over the carpet so no harm was done!

Half way through the sittings we had to move rooms because they were sand-blasting outside and then I had to move back again into the yellow room.  Fortunately I had not got far enough for it to matter, I was still working on the composition.

The Queen was very amusing to talk to and I loved going along to do it. She made me feel at ease.

John Edwards

John Edwards drawing of HM the Queen for the Royal Collection

John Edwards drawing of HM the Queen for the Royal Collection

Leave a Reply

